Nine Missouri public universities participate in the Leadership Academy by selecting students to attend each year.  They are:
  • University of Missouri - St Louis (UMSL)
  • University of Missouri - Kansas City (UMKC)
  • University of Missouri - Columbia (MU)
  • Missouri University of Science & Technology
  • Truman State University
  • Lincoln University
  • Missouri State University
  • Southeast Missouri State University
  • University of Central Missouri  

You must be a College Senior in the upcoming 2021/2022 school year. 

Submit a complete application, updated resume, and letter of recommendation from a university faculty or staff member.

You must be a student at a Missouri college or university in order to apply. While there is an emphasis on public policy and civic engagement at the Leadership Academy, students from all majors are encouraged to apply. Shear Fellows from all academic disciplines benefit and build leadership skills that are applicable to their chosen field. Program faculty come from a variety of backgrounds, including law, business, public service, engineering, education, the non-profit sector, healthcare, criminal justice, real estate and more.

All students selected to participate as Shear Fellows are expected to attend all Leadership Academy sessions during the entire program, June 9th and June 10th, June 14th - June 18th, 2021.

Participants will receive a Leadership Certificate and Gift Card for successful completion of the Leadership Academy

UMSL Application
UMSL Sue Sheer Leadership Academy 2021

Sue Shear Leadership Academy Home • Leadership Academy FAQs
Leadership Academy Schools • How to Apply • Past Shear Fellows
Leadership Academy Brochure